Texas A&M AgriLife

Search for Vice Chancellor and Dean for Agriculture and Life Sciences

A national search is underway for the critical position of Vice Chancellor and Dean for Agriculture and Life Sciences.

The role encompasses responsibilities for the statewide Texas A&M University System and Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas.  First, it leads Texas A&M AgriLife, comprised of Texas A&M AgriLife Research, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, the Texas A&M Forest Service, and the Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory. These statewide agencies conduct vital research and outreach and provide critical services to Texans, to improve agriculture and natural resources.  Also, as dean, the position leads the Texas A&M University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, one of the largest colleges of its kind in the nation.

Search Committee

Chair of the Search Advisory Committee

  • Dr. M. Katherine Banks, Vice Chancellor and Dean of Engineering and Director, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station

Search Advisory Committee

  • Dr. Joseph Awika, Associate Professor, Soil and Crop Sciences
  • Dr. Susan Ballabina, Executive Associate Director, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
  • Dr. Fuller Bazer, Distinguished Professor, Animal Science
  • Ms. Caroline Chaves-Arantes, Graduate Student, Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences
  • Dr. Boon Chew, Department Head and Professor, Nutrition and Food Sciences
  • Dr. John Crompton, Distinguished Professor, Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Sciences
  • Ms. Kari Curtis,  Budget Manager and University Staff Council Representative, Texas A&M AgriLife
  • Dr. Tri Duong, Associate Professor, Poultry Science
  • Dr. James Hallmark, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Texas A&M University System
  • Dr. Ping He, Associate Professor, Biochemistry and Biophysics
  • Dr. Kathleen Kavanagh, Department Head and Professor, Ecosystem Science and Management
  • Dr. Holli Leggette-Archer, Assistant Professor, Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications
  • Dr. Bruce McCarl, Distinguished Professor, Agricultural Economics
  • Dr. Bill McCutchen, Executive Associate Director, Texas A&M AgriLife Research
  • Ms. Elaine Mendoza, Regent, Texas A&M University System
  • Dr. Jon Mogford, Vice Chancellor for Research, Texas A&M University System
  • Mr. Wesley Moorehead, Chief Regional Forester, Texas A&M Forest Service
  • Mr. Jim Palinscar, Senior Vice President, Texas A&M Foundation
  • Dr. Elizabeth Pierson, Associate Professor, Horticultural Sciences
  • Dr. Juliana Rangel, Assistant Professor, Entomology
  • Dr. Steve Searcy, Department Head and Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering
  • Dr. Amy Swinford, Associate Director, Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory
  • Dr. Gary Voelker, Professor, Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences
  • Dr. Heather Wilkinson, Associate Dean of Faculties and Professor, Plant Pathology and Microbiology
  • Mr. Ross Wilson, President and CEO, Texas Cattle Feeders Association
  • Mr. Landon Woods, Undergraduate Student, Agricultural Economics

Search Support:

Listening Sessions

The search advisory committee invited employees and interested parties to a series of listening sessions. These included:

  • On-Campus Listening Session (Wednesday, April 26, 2017)
  • Statewide (Off-campus/Online) Listening Session (Wednesday, April 26, 2017).
  • Student Listening Session (Wednesday, April 26, 2017)

Position Announcement

Important Links