Texas A&M AgriLife

Texas A&M University Distinguished Professor

The title of Distinguished Professor is one of the highest honors given to Texas A&M University faculty. It is bestowed in perpetuity on faculty members who are pre-eminent in their fields.

2015 Recipient


Martin B. Dickman

Dr. Martin B. Dickman
Professor, Director of Institute for Plant Genomics and Biotechnology

Dr. Martin B. Dickman, the Christine Richardson Professor of Agriculture, professor in the Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology, and director of the Institute for Plant Genomics and Biotechnology, joined the faculty of the Texas A&M College of Agriculture and Life Sciences in January 2006. He earned his Ph.D. from the University of Hawaii. Dr. Dickman is internationally recognized for his work in genetics and molecular biology of fungi and fungal-plant interactions. His primary research emphasis involves the regulation of plant programmed cell death. He is principally responsible for establishing the new paradigm that programmed cell death (PCD) plays a central role in controlling plant disease and plant stress responses. His awards include: Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow of the American Society for Microbiology, Fellow of the American Phytopathological Society, and the E.C. Stakman Award for Research Excellence in Plant Pathology, a pivotal distinction in the field.


2014 Recipients

Robert Chapkin

Robert Chapkin

Dr. Robert Chapkin
Regents Professor and University Faculty Fellow, Nutrition and Food Sciences, Biochemistry and Biophysics

Joining the Texas A&M University faculty in 1988 after a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of California, Davis, Dr. Chapkin has focused his research on colon cancer prevention. He and the members of his laboratory investigate the impact of dietary fat, fiber, and folate on the inhibition or activation of genes involved in the development of cancer in humans. Among Dr. Chapkin’s many accomplishments is developing a patented, noninvasive method for monitoring changes in intestinal gene expression. One of his current investigations concerns the mechanisms by which dietary lipids and phytochemicals affect the immune system. He has received a number of awards, including the Osborne and Mendel Award from the American Society for Nutrition, the NASA Space Act Award, and the Bio-Serv Award in Experimental Animal Nutrition from the American Society of Nutrition.

Jeffery Savell

Jeffery Savell

Dr. Jeffrey Savell
Regents Professor and E. M. “Manny” Rosenthal Chair, Animal Science; Cintron University Professor in Undergraduate Teaching Excellence

Dr. Savell’s research demonstrates the role of beef in a healthy diet and has provided an economic incentive for the beef industry to produce leaner beef. In addition, he is considered to be a thought leader in food safety. Dr. Savell has been recognized by the American Meat Science Association at the national and international levels. He has also received the highest award given by the American Meat Science Association, for “extraordinary and lasting contributions to the meat and livestock industry.” He has published 19 book chapters, more than 300 articles in peer-refereed journals, and hundreds of AgriLife Extension publications and presentations. His work has been cited more than 5,725 times. He earned his doctorate at Texas A&M University in 1978, briefly worked as a specialist in Texas A&M AgriLife Extension, and joined the Animal Science faculty in 1979.


List of past recipients from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Singh, Vijay P.     Biological and Agricultural Engineering     2013

Wu, Guoyao     Animal Science     2012

Lupton, Joanne R.      Nutrition and Food Science     2008

McCarl, Bruce A.     Agricultural Economics     2008

Crompton, John     Recreation, Park & Tourism Sciences     2000

Bazer, Fuller     Animal Science     2004

Borlaug, Norman (deceased)     Agriculture     1984

Summers, Max (emeritus)     Entomology     1983

Adkisson, Perry (emeritus)     Entomology     1979

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *