About the Task Force

The Drought Joint Information Center is a group of state and federal agency public information officers, led by Texas AgriLife Communications, who were activated by the Governor’s Division of Emergency Management.

Participating agencies include: Texas AgriLife Extension Service, Texas Water Development Board, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Texas Forest Service, Texas Animal Health Commission, Texas Department of Agriculture, Texas Department of Public Safety, Texas Department of Transportation and Texas Commission on Environmental Quality.

We provide a central clearing house of drought-related public information and education to help each of the participating agencies perform their designated public service roles.

We also provide timely and consistent drought-related news including: historic and forecasted National Weather Service rainfall information, water updates from state water authorities, and agricultural drought damage assessment updates as provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Services Agency, state agricultural economists and other recognized experts.

This Web site is designed to be a no-frills information center that’s activated during times of prolonged and widespread drought in Texas. It serves at the discretion of the Governor’s Division of Emergency Management.

The Web site is divided into two distinct areas. The ‘Resources on Drought’ section provides static and changing information on drought ranging from stream-flow data and weather information to links provided by the participating agencies.

The ‘News Updates/Situational Reports’ section features the latest items provided by the participating agencies.

All the information on the Web site is public information and is available for producers, industry groups, county officials, the media and anyone needing creditable, consistent Texas drought-related information.

Questions? Contact Steve Byrns at s-byrns@tamu.edu, AgriLife Communications media relations specialist and Drought Joint Information Center leader.

Contact Information

Eric Faulk
Texas Department of Agriculture
Communications Division
P.O. Box 12847
Austin, TX 78711
o: (512) 463-7818
c: (512) 413-2067
f: (512) 463-1104
eric.faulk@TexasAgriculture.gov

Leslie G. Anderson
Director
Communications, Strategic Planning and Records Management
Texas Water Development Board
512.463.7855: Office
512.870.7402: Cell
512.463.2053: Fax
leslie.anderson@twdb.state.tx.us

Andrea Morrow
TCEQ Media Relations
Phone: 512-239-5011
Fax: 512-239-5010
amorrow@tceq.state.tx.us

Linda A. Moon
Texas Forest Service
Communications Manager
p:979.458.6606
c:979.450.1160
f:979.458.6610
lmoon@tfs.tamu.edu

Tom Harvey
News and Information Director
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Office phone: (512) 389-4453
Mobile phone: (512) 565-3679
tom.harvey@tpwd.state.tx.us

Lori Valadez
State Public Affairs Specialist
USDA – Natural Resources Conservation Service
101 S. Main Street
Temple, TX 76501
Phone: 254-742-9811
Cell: 254-760-5176
Fax: 254-742-9939
lori.valadez@tx.usda.gov

Travis D. Miller
Professor, Texas AgriLife
Extension Service Program
Leader and Associate Head for Soil and Crop Sciences
434F Heep Center
2474 Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843-2474
phone: 979.845-4808
fax:979.845-0456
td-miller@tamu.edu

Brenda Carlson
Public Affairs Specialist
Office of External Affairs
USDA – Farm Service Agency
Texas-Arizona -Colorado-Louisiana-New Mexico-Oklahoma-Utah
979-680-5213 (o)
202-258-0882 (c)
Brenda.carlson@tx.usda.gov

Cindy Loeffler, Chief
Water Resources Branch
Coastal Fisheries Division
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Road
Austin, TX 78744
Cindy.loeffler@tpwd.state.tx.us

Randy Ormsby
Information Specialist
Maintenance Division
Texas Department of Transportation
Office: (512) 416-3196
Cell: (512) 573-1650
rormsby@dot.state.tx.us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.