News and Updates

Awards and Achievements

Please join us in congratulating our faculty, staff, current students and former students on their recent awards and achievements.


Dr. Zerle Carpenter

Meat Industry Hall of Fame Inducts Six New Members for 2014

Each year, the Members and the Hall’s Board of Trustees choose a new class of Inductees from among more than 75 nominations submitted by participants across all sectors of red meat and poultry production, processing, marketing and research. The Class of 2014 is the sixth group of industry leaders to be inducted.

One of the inductees is Zerle Carpenter, Ph.D., who has spent 35 years as a Professor of Animal Science at Texas A&M University and noted, among many distinguished accomplishments, for his leadership in helping conduct the foundational research that led to the establishment of USDA’s official grades of beef, pork and lamb. The value of U.S. livestock produced in the United States is based on this research and established U.S. meat products as the world standard.
Read More →


Dr. G. Michael McWhorter

McWhorter Receives Distinguished Service Award

Dr. G. Michael McWhorter was presented this week with the Association for International Agriculture & Rural Development’s Distinguished Service Award. He was honored Monday as part of AIARD’s 50th annual conference in Washington D.C.

The Borlaug Institute’s associate director and international training coordinator was awarded specifically for his role in proposing and implementing AIARD’s Future Leaders Forum, which, since its inception in 2005, has fulfilled its mission by funding trips for 121 finishing graduate students to AIARD’s annual conference to meet with perspective employers in agricultural development.
Read More →

Key Ledbetter

AgriLife Research writer to receive national recognition

Kay Ledbetter, aTexas A&M AgriLife Research communications specialist at Amarillo, has been selected to receive the 2014 ACE Award for Excellence in Writing.

“Awards of Excellence exemplify excellence in a specific Special Interest Group and Kay’s nomination certainly highlights both her leadership in Texas A&M AgriLife Research work and in ACE,” said Becky Koch in her congratulatory letter confirming the honor. Koch is North Dakota State University at Fargo’s ag communication director and president of ACE, the abbreviated acronym for the Association for Communication Excellence in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Life and Human Sciences.
Read More →

Maj. Gen. Thomas G. “Tom” Darling ’54

Monroe H. Fuchs ’56

Two AGLS Former Students Selected as 2014 Distinguished Alumni

Twelve Aggies have been selected as the 2014 recipients of the highest honor bestowed upon a former student of Texas A&M University, the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Texas A&M University and The Association of Former Students are proud to welcome as Distinguished Alumni: Maj. Gen. Thomas G. “Tom” Darling ’54 and Monroe H. Fuchs ’56.
Read More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *