News and Updates

Awards and Achievements

Please join us in congratulating our faculty, staff, current students and former students on their recent awards and achievements.


Graham receives Texas A&M AgriLife Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award

Dr. Charles W. Graham has received the Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award from Texas A&M AgriLife – the highest individual honor given to individuals demonstrating outstanding leadership and providing significant contributions to Texas agriculture.

Graham received the award at the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association Convention in San Antonio April 6.

Read More →


Dr. Dan Hale

Hale selected to receive Distinguished Achievement Award

Dr. Dan Hale, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service meat specialist and professor in the department of animal science at Texas A&M University, has been selected to receive a 2014 Distinguished Achievement Award for Extension, Outreach, Continuing Education and Professional Development.

Read More →


Dr. Justin Scheiner

Scheiner named viticulturist for Texas A&M AgriLife

Dr. Justin Scheiner has been named viticulturist for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in College Station. He also will serve as assistant professor in the horticultural sciences department at Texas A&M University.

“This is a very exciting time to be involved with the Texas grape and wine industry. I look forward to working closely with grape growers across the state to address current and future challenges,” Scheiner said.

Read More →


Dr. Urs Kreuter

Kreuter receives Society for Range Management award for research

Dr. Urs Kreuter, a Texas A&M AgriLife Research rangeland scientist in College Station, received the Outstanding Achievement Award for Academia/Research at the 67th annual meeting of the Society for Range Management held recently in Orlando, Fla.

Read More →

Jeffery Savell

Jeffery Savell

Robert Chapkin

Robert Chapkin

Chapkin and Savell honored as university distinguished professors at Texas A&M University

Drs. Robert Chapkin and Jeffrey Savell, both faculty members in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Texas A&M University in College Station, were recently named university distinguished professors.

The title, which is bestowed in perpetuity, is one of the highest honors given to Texas A&M University System faculty.

Chapkin is a professor in the college’s nutrition and food science department, and Savell is a professor in its animal science department.

Read More →

Texas A&M System Board Of Regents Recognize Outstanding Faculty And Staff

The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents honored 13 professors and seven fellows within the A&M System as Regents Professor or Regents Fellow for 2012-13 on Jan. 29 in Galveston, Texas.

“The Regents Awards allow us to show our outstanding faculty and researchers that we value their contribution to the A&M System,” said Board Chairman Phil Adams. “It is their commitment to excellence that makes the A&M System one of America’s very best.”

This year’s AgriLife recipient of the Regents Professor Award is Dr. Stephen B. Smith, Department of Animal Science and Texas A&M AgriLife Research.AgriLife recipients of the Regents Fellow Service Award are: Dr. Susan G. Ballabina, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service; Dr. Andrés de la Concha-Bermejillo, Texas A&M Veterinary Diagnostic Medical Laboratory; Dr. Stephen D. Green, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension; and Dr. H. Brent Pemberton, Texas A&M AgriLife Research.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *