Group

PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR:

Carlos A. Avila
Associate Professor | Department of Horticultural Sciences
Texas A& M AgriLife Research and Extension Center
2415 E. Hwy 83, Weslaco, TX 78596

Email: Carlos.Avila@ag.tamu.edu
Office: +1 (956) 969-5636

Education:
PhD, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR 2008
MSc, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR 2005
BSc, Zamorano, Escuela Agricola Panamericana, Honduras 1999
Associate degree, Zamorano, Escuela Agricola Panamericana, Honduras 1997

 

CURRENT LAB MEMBERS:

  • Henry O. Awika, PhD
    PostDoctoral Research Associate
    Email: Henry.Awika@ag.tamu.edu
    Projects: Disease resistance in Spinach (White rust and Anthracnose), Nitrogen- and water-use efficiency in spinach, high-throughput phenotyping in Spinach
  • Devi Kandel, PhD
    PostDoctoral Research Associate
    Email: Devi.Kandel@ag.tamu.edu
    Projects: tomato fruit quality traits, TYLCV resistance in tomato, high-throughput phenotyping in tomato
  • Dario Rueda-Kunz, BSc
    Graduate Research Assistant
    Email: darioruedakunz@tamu.edu
    Projects: Enhancement of Ascorbic acid in spinach, Salt Stress tolerance in Spinach
  • Alexandra Hernandez
    Ag Research Worker
    Email: Alexandra.Hernandez@ag.tamu.edu
  • Samantha Serna
    Ag Research Worker
    Email: Samantha.Serna@ag.tamu.edu
  • Gerleene Acuna, BSc.
    Lab Technician, Chemical Composition Analysis
    Email: gmacuna@ag.tamu.edu

FORMER LAB MEMBERS:

  • Estephanie Bernal, MSc
    Lab technician
  • Leticia Rodriguez
    Ag Research Worker
  • Alondra Menchaca
    Ag Research Worker
  • Thiago G. Marconi, PhD
    Research Associate
  • Sonia delRio, PhD
    PostDoctoral Research Associate
  • Zenaida Viloria, PhD
    PostDoctoral Research Associate
  • Julianna Kurpis, MSc.
    Lab Technician

GROUP PICTURES:

Summer 2020. Front: Carlos Avila, Back from left to right: Dario Rueda, Devi Kandel, Estephanie Bernal, and Samantha Serna. Not in the picture: Henry Awika, Alexandra Hernandez

 

Summer 2019. From left to right. Back: Henry Awika, Carlos Avila, Dario Rueda, Ernesto Anciso, and Devi Kandel. Front: Samantha Serna, Alexandra Hernandez, and Alondra Menchaca

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *