Urban Tarrant Agriculture

Agriculture is one of the primary drivers of the Fort Worth-Dallas Metroplex and Tarrant County economy. It includes agribusinesses, support industry and a variety of livestock operations plus more than twenty-five commercial crops. The total payroll, cash receipts, insurance and government payments contribute over $3.65 billion to the area economy.

Tarrant County statistics include:

  • 1,278 farms
  • 145,661 acres in ag production
  • 114 average Size of Farms
  • $34,003,000 market value of products sold
  • $25,191,000 in Crops Sales
  • $9,411,000 in Livestock sales
  • Ranked 15th in Texas for nursery, greenhouse, floriculture and sod production
  • Ranked 17th in Texas for horses and ponies
  • Average age of operators is 59.9 years of age
  • Females operate 24.8 percent of the farms
  • Only 28.7 percent of the operators are full-time farmers
  • 6.5 percent of the operators identify as Hispanic
  • 1.8 percent of the operators identify as Black or African American
Print Friendly

AgriLife Today

  • Carr Ranch Gathering set for Oct. 21 near Floresville
    Sep 24Carr Ranch Gathering set for Oct. 21 near Floresville

    Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Bryan Davis, 830-393-7357, bryan.davis@ag.tamu.edu FLORESVILLE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and others will present the Carr Ranch Gathering Oct.21 at the Bill and Dusty Carr Sale Facility, 6720 Farm-to-Market Road 97. The facility is located 8 miles west of Floresville. The program is free. Registration will be […] The post Carr Ranch Gathering set for Oct. 21 near Floresville appeared first on AgriLife Today.

  • Planning, practice are vital to emergency, disaster preparation
    Sep 23Planning, practice are vital to emergency, disaster preparation

    Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Joyce Cavanagh, 979-845-3859, jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — September has been designated National Preparedness Month and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service is supporting preparedness efforts by offering tips to Texans on how they can prepare for and recover from a disaster or emergency. “This is a particularly good […] The post Planning, practice are vital to emergency, disaster preparation appeared first on AgriLife Today.

  • Armyworms are on the march
    Sep 23Armyworms are on the march

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Charles Allen, 325-653-4576, ctallen@ag.tamu.edu                 SAN ANGELO – Armyworms are now on the march, decimating huge swaths of Texas crops and pastures, said a Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service entomologist at San Angelo.                 Dr. Charles Allen said reports of damage are streaming into his office and to […] The post Armyworms are on the march appeared first on AgriLife Today.

  • Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School heats up Oct. 18 in San Antonio
    Sep 23Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School heats up Oct. 18 in San Antonio

    By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Angie Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO — The Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School will be presented from 6-8 p.m. Oct. 18 at the Whitley Theological Center, 285 Oblate Drive in San Antonio. The school is being conducted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service in Bexar County, the Prairie […] The post Dinner Tonight! Healthy Cooking School heats up Oct. 18 in San Antonio appeared first on AgriLife Today.

  • Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge
    Sep 23Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

    Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […] The post Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge appeared first on AgriLife Today.