Urban Tarrant Agriculture

Promoting Tarrant County’s Agriculture

Although less visible than it once was, agriculture is of significant importance to the economy of Tarrant County. Many consumers do not consider the processing, manufacture, delivery and retail sale of commodities as part of the vast agriculture industry.

Estimated income from agriculture production surpasses $70 million annually in Tarrant County. Wheat, grain sorghum and hay account for approximately $11 million and livestock production (non-equine) contributing $7 million.

A recent survey of the equine industry found Tarrant County’s 25,672 horses were having a $400 million economic impact each year. The value of horse production alone was estimated at $105 million.

Print Friendly

AgriLife Today

  • Four Beef Quality programs scheduled for East Texas producers
    May 05Four Beef Quality programs scheduled for East Texas producers

    By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Jason Banta, 903-834-6191, jpbanta@ag.tamu.edu OVERTON — Four Beef Quality Assurance Training events will be held in May and June in Central and East Texas. The training events are a collaborative effort among the Texas Beef Council, Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association, and the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. […]

  • Understanding lock for cellular trap door may lead to better disease treatment
    May 05Understanding lock for cellular trap door may lead to better disease treatment

    Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jean-Philippe Pellois, 979-845-0101, pellois@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — A team of researchers who two years ago announced a “Trojan horse” method of entering a cell without harming it have now found, in effect, the lock to the cellular “trap door.” The research, led by Dr. Jean-Philippe Pellois, appears in […]

  • New Texas Superstar introduced: Whopper begonias
    May 05New Texas Superstar introduced: Whopper begonias

    By: Adam Russell, 903-834-6191, adam.russell@tylerpaper.com Contact: Dr. Brent Pemberton, 903-834-6191, brent.pemberton@ag.tamu.edu David Rodriguez, 210-631-0400, dhrodriguez@ag.tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Wax begonias have long been a staple of Texas landscapes, but a recently introduced series has been distinguished as a bigger, brighter ornamental – Whopper begonias. Whopper begonias have been named a 2016 Texas Superstar plant by […]

  • Learn, Grow, Eat and Go! program teaches youth about gardening, nutrition, physical activity
    May 05Learn, Grow, Eat and Go! program teaches youth about gardening, nutrition, physical activity

    By: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Ruby Zavala, 210-631-0400, ruby.zavala@ag.tamu.edu Rosemary Fuentes, 210-631-0400, rosemary.fuentes@ag.tamu.edu Angela “Angie” Gutierrez, 210-631-0400, aogutierrez@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANTONIO – For the past two and a half months, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service personnel have been making a difference in the lives of 542 third-graders at 10 elementary schools throughout Bexar County by […]

  • Texas A&M AgriLife study shows insect costing millions
    May 04Texas A&M AgriLife study shows insect costing millions

    WESLACO  —  It may be hard to spot, but the tiny sugarcane aphid is racking up tens of millions of dollars in losses in just the four South Texas counties evaluated so far, according to a report by an economist with the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. And the losses would have been much higher […]