Student Competition

Each year, the C. C. Burkhardt Memorial Graduate Student Paper presentation competition is held. First place receives $100 and and a plaque and second place receives $50!

Don’t forget, you could get a free sponsorship!

Dr. Chris Burkhardt was an economic entomologist from the University of Wyoming.  He worked almost exclusively with chemical control of insects and mites on field crops.  He loved students and had a huge number of MS and PhD students during his career at the University of Wyoming.  He made it a point to bring all of his students to RMCE each summer.  That could range from three or four to eight or nine, depending on the work he was doing and the funds he had.  It was because of his dedication to students that the C. C. Burkhardt Memorial Award was started shortly after he died in 1998. His activity as an RMCE officer is impressive.  He was vice-chair in 1956,  when he was working with Dr. R. H. Painter at KSU, before he got his PhD. He was secretary from 1969-1977,  and chairman in 1980.

2012 Winning Talks

1st Place: Carey Minteer: Determining the feasibility of using multispectral remote sensing to map spotted knapweed.

2nd Place: Milo Lewis: Potato Psyllid IPM


Comments are closed.