Texas A&M AgriLife

Regents Professor Award

The Board of Regents established the Regents Professor Award program in 1996 to recognize and honor faculty members who have made exemplary contributions to their university, agency, or health science center and to the people of Texas. Nominees must be full-time faculty members who have held the rank of professor or equivalent in The Texas A&M University System for at least five years and have produced a distinguished record of teaching, research, and other scholarly activities.

001. Stepehn Smith - Portfolio PhotoDr. Stephen B. Smith
Department of Animal Science
Texas A&M University
Dr. Stephen B. Smith graduated Cum Laude from the California State College, Bakersfield, and was awarded the Loren D. Carlson Prize in Physiology at the University of California, Davis, in recognition of scholarly achievement and promise in teaching and research. The Loren D. Carlson Prize is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a graduate student in physiology at the University of California at Davis. During the 30-year period that Dr. Smith has been at Texas A&M University, he has built a nationally and internationally recognized research program in the growth, development, and composition of bovine adipose tissue, and he organized, hosted, and chaired two U.S. – Korea Joint International Symposia. Although Dr. Smith had a promising career with the U.S. Meat Animal Research Center at Clay Center, Nebraska, his desire to teach and work directly with graduate students motivated him to accept a position in the Department of Animal Science at Texas A&M University. Because he teaches primarily graduate courses, Dr. Smith stated goal is that “his students to incorporate foundational, background information with the latest scientific findings”. Dr. Smith works to engage students in discussion and evaluation of scientific literature and to challenge dogma when appropriate. In addition to classroom teaching, graduate student mentoring has been a major thrust of Dr. Smith’s academic program. In addition to his activities as Chair or co-Chair of his own graduate students, Dr. Smith is highly sought after to serve as committee member for graduate students in Animal Science, Poultry Science, Food Science, Nutrition, Health and Kinesiology, and Veterinary Medicine.


2012 Recipient 

Delbert M. Gatlin III

Dr. Delbert M. Gatlin III
Associate Head for Research and Graduate Programs
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences
Professor, Intercollegiate Faculty of Nutrition
Texas A&M University
Dr. Gatlin has received international acclaim for his work in aquaculture and fish nutrition since joining the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences in 1987. He has served on highranking research committees in Norway and the United States,
including as vice chair on the National Academies Committee on the Nutrient Requirements of Fish and Shrimp (2009–2010). Dr. Gatlin’s distinguished service record also includes his current work as editor of the nutrition section of Aquaculture, his positions on the editorial boards of other top research journals, and his role as advisor to organizations such as the Striped Bass Growers Association. Dr. Gatlin has also served extensively at the department, college, and university levels. He was interim head of his department (2006–2007) and has served on numerous committees in tenure and promotion, recruitment, and student selection. Among his many honors is the Vice Chancellor’s Award in Excellence for Administration in 2007. Dr. Gatlin is also an innovative, award-winning educator, receiving the Vice Chancellor’s Award in Excellence for Graduate Teaching in 2001. He has become adept at distance-teaching technologies while also traveling across the globe to conduct short courses related to his field. Dr. Gatlin has supervised 29 master’s and 26 doctoral students; he and his students have published 207 peer-reviewed research articles. Dr. Gatlin is also a co-author on 16 book chapters and three books. His research efforts have brought over $6.6 million in competitive research grants to The Texas A&M University System. For his accomplishments the Texas Aquaculture Association designated him Researcher of the Year in 1990, 2002, and 2010.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>